How to manage the storage size of your process with auto clean

Overview

This article will explain how to set up the auto clean policy to manage the size of your process. The size of the process is related to the changes made to the process and number of files and runs it has. You could easily setup the auto clean policy in the storage setting panel. The default storage setting of processes will keep last 30 historical information and runs. The historical information includes the changes made to the process and the file versions that belongs to the process. The process runs are a copy of the current process when you run the process with the “Create a new process-run” checked.

Behind the scene, there is a system maintenance agent running periodically to delete the old information and runs of your processes according to your storage settings. It is just like a cleaner is hired to clean your office. A cleaner makes your office nice and clean. A system maintenance agent reduce the size of your process and increase the system performance. If you want to alter the settings to meet your requirements, you need to change it by following the steps below:

Steps

StorageSizeControl

  • Right click on your process and choose the “Process storage”. The storage settings panel of the clicked process will show up in a new tab.
  • In the “Auto clean policy” section, there are 3 options:
    • Retain all historical information and runs
      If this option is chosen, nothing from this process will be deleted by system maintenance agent
    • Retain only prior n versions for historical information and runs
      If this option is chosen, system maintenance agent will only keep the most recent n versions of historical information and runs. All the other information and runs will be deleted. n can be changed in the number text box of corresponding option.
    • Retain only prior n months for historical information and runs
      If this option is chosen, system maintenance agent will only keep the most recent n months of historical information and runs. All the other information and runs will be deleted.n can be changed in the number text box of corresponding option.
  • Click the “Save” button once you finished your configuration. At this point of time, if the system maintenance agents gets to this process, it will clean and delete old historical information and runs according to the storage settings that you configured.
  • Click “Run auto clean policy now”. This step is optional. What it does is it calls your system maintenance agent to clean your process immediately.
Recent Posts

Leave a Comment